Passing the time

TODAY’S FIND:

The Journal Gazette: August 30, 2010

I grew up near Fort Wayne, Ind., and my dad was an avid reader of The Journal Gazette. So I have to say that I think fondly of the newspaper, especially since it brings back a lot of good memories for me.

However, after taking a few design classes at Ball State University and working at The Daily News for a year, I notice how boring The Journal Gazette’s design is. For example (below), take a look at today’s front page. I hate to be such a Debbie Downer since the photo package is a good attempt at adding more visuals to their paper. But honestly, those photos look TOO similar. I would also like to point out the tease to a photo gallery online. With the photos on the front page being so drab, I have to admit that I am not enticed to look at more of these photos.

That being said, I still have a certain fondness for the newspaper. So kudos for the effort.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • The latest

  • On the shelves