This is what I do when I finish work early

Last week I helped with designing a 12-page A section of The Star Press, complete with lots of open space and few advertisements. So helping with designing today’s eight-page A section is a lot easier.

So, to find something constructive to do with my spare time, I browsed Newseum for more inspiration.

TODAY’S FINDS:

RedEye: September 4, 2010

Although the headline’s wording is a little bland and states the obvious, I like the concept of this layout and the simple illustration. However, I also think that blue is the wrong color choice. When I think of TVs, I don’t think of blue. I would have used a more “fun” color such as orange, yellow or green. That being said, using one of those colors would, unfortunately, not compliment RedEye’s flag very well.

Chronicle-Tribune: September 4, 2010

My only comment for this layout is that the Chronicle-Tribune does not seem to like white space. Centerpiece stories typically have two picas of space surrounding it. This one looks like it barely has one pica of free space.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

